Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Select language

Search

Search our Catalogue

Search our Website

Contact

Contact via Email

Mrs. Althoff
Tel.: (0202) 439-3199
Mrs. Klimscha
Tel.: (0202) 439-2716

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)

Academic identity management may seem time-consuming as author profiles have to be continuously maintained and updated. ORCID tries to minimize the effort of your publication management.

The ORCID iD is a unique identifier for researchers. This author identification can be compared to the digital object identifier (DOI) which is a numeric code for publications. The DOI is a persistent identifier standardized by the ISO and very common in academic publication processes. ORCID is open, non-commercial as well as cross-platform and guarantees a unique correlation between a person and their academic output.

You have complete control. All specifications of the ORCID record are self-manageable concerning the visibility except your name and the ORCID iD itself – both are always public. ORCID ensures better networking and saves you a lot of time and work.

The advantages at a glance:

  • Unique identification and allocation of publications
  • Disambiguation of personal names in the case of homonymy and/or name change as well as different spellings
  • Overall appearance of contributions of one researcher independent of employment
  • Curriculum vitae in digital form
  • Integration into manuscript services (Nature, Springer, PLOS, IEEE, Wiley etc.)
  • Funding: Use your ORCID iD for applications and reports for resarch funding or external fund-raising organizations. This means considerably less work for you as you can grant funders access to your profile and your documented research work.
  • Current lists of publications: `Trusted parties´ such as DataCite and Crossref offer the service to automatically enter your publication in your ORCID profile.

Another interesting side effect: Use your ORCID iD for scientific communication for example when you register for conferences or refer to your ORCID iD instead of giving elaborate information about your scientific career.

Meanwhile ORCID has become a de facto standard. The position paper Autorenidentifikation anhand der Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID) published by the DINI (Deutsche Initiative für Netzwerkinformation) describes and reflects different aspects of ORCID.

Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Sprache wählen

Suche

Suche im Katalog

Suche auf den Webseiten

Ansprechpartnerinnen

Kontakt per E-Mail

Frau Althoff
Tel.: (0202) 439-3199
Frau Klimscha
Tel.: (0202) 439-2716

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)

Akademisches Identitätsmanagement erscheint zeitaufwendig, da Autorenprofile kontinuierlich gepflegt werden müssen, um sie aktuell zu halten. ORCID versucht, den Aufwand des Publikationsmanagements zu minimieren.

Die ORCID iD ist eine eindeutige Kennung für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Diese Autorenidentifikation kann mit dem Digital Object Identifier (DOI) als numerischer Code für Publikationen verglichen werden. Das DOI-System ist ein ISO-Standard und im wissenschaftlichen Publikationsprozess weit verbreitet. ORCID ist offen, nicht kommerziell sowie plattformübergreifend und gewährleistet die eindeutige Zuordnung einer Person zu ihrer Forschungsleistung.

Sie haben die volle Kontrolle. Bis auf den Namen und die ORCID iD – beide sind immer öffentlich –  können sämtliche ORCID-Record-Angaben im Hinblick auf die Sichtbarkeit selbst verwaltet werden. ORCID sorgt für mehr Vernetzung und erspart Ihnen dabei sehr viel Zeit und Arbeit.

Die Vorteile im Überblick:

  • Eindeutige Identifizierung und Zuordnung von Publikationen
  • Disambiguierung von Personennamen beispielsweise bei Namensgleichheiten und/oder -änderungen sowie unterschiedlichen Schreibweisen
  • Gesamtbild der Beiträge einer oder eines Forschenden unabhängig von Arbeitgebern
  • Digitales Curriculum Vitae
  • Integration in Manuskriptdienste (Nature, Springer, PLOS, IEEE, Wiley etc.)
  • Funding: Nutzen Sie Ihre ORCID iD bei Anträgen und Berichten für Forschungsförderer oder Drittmittelgeber. Dies verringert Ihren Arbeitsaufwand deutlich, denn Sie können so Fördergebern Zugriff auf Ihr Profil und Ihre dort dokumentierte Forschungsarbeit gewähren.
  • Aktuelle Publikationslisten: „Trusted parties“ wie DataCite und Crossref bieten einen Service an, der automatisch Publikationen in Ihr ORCID-Profil einträgt.

Ein weiterer interessanter Nebeneffekt: Verwenden Sie Ihre ORCID iD in der wissenschaftsbezogenen Kommunikation zum Beispiel bei der Anmeldung zu Konferenzen oder verweisen Sie statt ausführlicher Informationen zum wissenschaftlichen Werdegang auf Ihre ORCID iD.

Mittlerweile hat sich ORCID zu einem De-facto-Standard etabliert. Das Positionspapier Autorenidentifikation anhand der Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID) der Deutschen Initiative für Netzwerkinformation (DINI) beschreibt und beleuchtet kritisch die unterschiedlichen Aspekte von ORCID.